Advice wanted, regarding kiddie porn email
Rachel Polanskis
rachel@juno.virago.org.au
Mon, 21 Oct 1996 19:33:23 +1000 (EST)
Hello,
I was shocked today (this afternoon)
to find in my mailbox a letter inviting me to get some child pornography.
An snailmail address was supplied, and an email address
originating at AOL.
The item was pretty explicit, and even tries to imply that I am
interested by saying it got my name off a mailing list that contained
similar material.
This is patently untrue.
While I know how to trace back the email to an originating host, I am
wondering whether it is worth it, or is there some authority I
can report this to, given it is a US posting?
I have a copy of the posting if need be, but for obvious reasons, do not
wish to broadcast it here on these lists.
It is quite possible the mail is a "troll" setting me up for a joke, or
even the possibility that the purported originator is being set up as an
innocent party out of maliciousness.
Please advise!!
rachel
--
Rachel Polanskis Kingswood, Greater Western Sydney, Australia
grove@zeta.org.au http://www.zeta.org.au/~grove/grove.html
r.polanskis@nepean.uws.edu.au http://www.nepean.uws.edu.au/library/
Witty comment revoked due to funding cuts