Fwd: Re: [LINK] Promoting education in Australia
Howard Lowndes
lannet@lannet.com.au
Sun, 12 Aug 2001 22:24:32 +1000 (EST)
Roger, where is the requirement for a company to publish it's ACN on it's
web site? I know of no such requirement.
--
Howard.
LANNet Computing Associates
Contact detail at http://www.lannetlinux.com
On Sun, 12 Aug 2001, Roger Clarke wrote:
>
> >On Sat, 11 Aug 2001, Tony Barry wrote:
> >> The government, as we know, wished to promote students from overseas
> >> to study in Australia. They do so at
> >> http://studyinaustralia.gov.au/Contents/Splash.html
>
> >From: Howard Lowndes <lannet@lannet.com.au>
> >Mind you they might also respond that the site was developed as part of
> >their outsourcing and hence is not their problem, but that of the
> >outsourcer.
>
> There's no 'About Us' segment of the site, so it's not apparent from
> the site's content who the publisher is and hence what laws and
> policies they're subject to. That's in breach of reasonable
> expectations, probably policy, and maybe the law.
>
> A company is required by law to provide their ACN on a web-site, and
> no ACN is evident; so of course it can't be a company ...
>
> At:
> http://studyinaustralia.gov.au/Contents/Legal/BrandAustralia.html
> Brand Australia
> Trade Mark
> TM © The Brand Australia trade mark is the subject of copyright and
> is a trade mark of the Australian Tourist Commission, 1999.
> Legal | Privacy | Feedback | Full version | Links
> Last update: 18 Jul 2001
>
> ATC is a statutory authority within the ISR portfolio:
> http://gold.directory.gov.au/access/webdua.cgi?e0_lfz210_60.&organizationalUnit&ou=Australian+Tourist+Commission%2cou=Statutory+authorities%2cou=Industry%5c%2c+Science+and+Resources%2cou=Portfolios%2co=Commonwealth+of+Australia%2cc=AU
> http://www.atc.gov.au/about/about.htm
>
> But the Privacy link goes to the standard *DETYA* privacy statement,
> which is a Javascript-driven popup window.
>
> A DNS-lookup on studyinaustralia.gov.au
> gives 165.12.253.223
> and a reverse DNS on that reverts to studyinaustralia.gov.au; so no joy there.
>
> But from:
> http://www.aunic.net/cgi-bin/whois.aunic
> domain: studyinaustralia.gov.au
> descr: Department of Education Training and Youth Affairs
> remarks: Created 19991217
> ...
> person: Mark Andrew Straker
> e-mail: mark.straker@dewrsb.gov.au
>
> So someone in the range ATC / DETYA / DEWRSB seems to wear it.
> Plenty of scope for buck-passing there ... Whoever's it is, it's all
> a bit of a cock-up.
>
> Declaration: I consult in this area, and can be expected to be
> critical of other consultants' work ...
>
>