[LINK] Current Virus Flurry

Roger Clarke Roger.Clarke@xamax.com.au
Wed, 6 Nov 2002 10:58:50 +1100


Quick Notes on the traffic of the last 24 hours (bearing in mind that 
I'm an amateur at such things, and have only spent a few minutes on 
it):

During 5-6 November, pakddemail@arbor.ee.ntu.edu.tw appeared to be 
generating lots of mail from various ill-conceived virus-reporting 
packages.  That of course resulted in lots of ill-advised, 
human-generated requests and complaints (including one which appeared 
to be from the Dean of the computing Faculty of a major Australian 
university).

A DNS lookup resolves the address as 140.112.17.57.  A traceroute 
produces information consistent with the proposition that it's a real 
account on a real mail-server, that is in Elec Eng at the National 
Taiwan Uni.

Finger doesn't appear to be enabled. 
http://www.ee.ntu.edu.tw/2002/professor_e.html shows no pak, either 
dd or otherwise;  ditto staff-e.html and alumni-e.html.  The Students 
section partly malfunctions, and partly requires a loginid and 
password.  None of the staff had addresses @arbor (most are @cc).  So 
the most likely interpretation is that, if it exists, it's probably a 
student account.

The cause appears to have been a new variant of a virus.  It was 
catalogued by virus-watchers as early as November 4, 2002  01:11:28 
PM PST:
http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.brid.a@mm.html

-- 
Roger Clarke              http://www.anu.edu.au/people/Roger.Clarke/

Xamax Consultancy Pty Ltd, 78 Sidaway St, Chapman ACT 2611 AUSTRALIA
                 Tel: +61 2 6288 1472, and 6288 6916
mailto:Roger.Clarke@xamax.com.au            http://www.xamax.com.au/

Visiting Professor, Uni of Hong Kong, Dept of Comp Sci and Info Sys
Visiting Fellow, Australian National University, Dept of Comp Sci