[LINK] Bogus Sydney Opera House web-site

Howard Lowndes lannet@lannet.com.au
Sat, 7 Sep 2002 23:35:58 +1000 (EST)


On Sat, 7 Sep 2002, Ann Moffatt wrote:

> it was discussed on the abc radio about a week ago. evidently it even takes
> money from people via their credit cards. when the tickets don't turn up
> they phone the opera house to hear they've been had.
>
> surely the govt can stop this sort of thing-esp in the case of the opera
> house!!

Which government, & which jurisdiction.

Admittedly the registration looks genuine enough until you come to the
technical contact, but anyone can register anything in any name, there
just are _no_ checks.  They have only done the registration for 1 year so
they look to have made their dough by 17 Jan.

Registrant:
          Sydney Opera House Trust
          Bennelong Point
          Sydney, New South Wales  AU
          2000

          Registrar: NameSecure.com
          Domain: SYDNEYOPERA.ORG
          Created on 01-17-2002
          Expires on 01-17-2003

          Administrative Contact:
          Web  Host
          Phone: 61 2 9250 7466
          E-mail: info@sydneyopera.org

          Technical Contact:
          Namesecure Inc.
          Phone: 703-925-6988
          E-mail: support@namesecure.com

          Name Servers:
          DNS1.NAMESECURE.COM            216.136.133.88
          DNS2.NAMESECURE.COM            63.168.49.34


>
> peace & love
>
> (i'm brushing up my old 60s sign off on all my ems letters etc in the hope
> that it does something to stop the impending war but i doubt it. the shrub
> needs it to get re-elected!!)
> ************************************
> Ann Moffatt
> EXoCaT Pty Ltd
> 49 Raintree Avenue
> BURRUM HEADS QLD 4659
> tel +61 (0) 7 4129 5796
> fax +61 (0) 7 4129 5916
> ***********************************
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "stewart carter" <mail@ecommercereport.com.au>
> To: <DEFANGED_link@www.anu.edu.au>
> Sent: Saturday, September 07, 2002 5:35 PM
> Subject: [LINK] Bogus Sydney Opera House web-site
>
>
> > Linkers,
> >
> > I was told about a bogus Sydney Opera House site the other day and
> > when I went to www.sydneyopera.org, the bogus site appears to be still
> > be in operation.
> >
> > The 'official' site is, of course, at www.soh.nsw.gov.au
> >
> > I'm told that a fellow "reptile of the press" reported on it recently.
> >
> > Does anyone have any clues on whom, or where?
> >
> >
> > Stewart Carter
> > eCommerce Report
> > www.ecommercereport.com.au
> > Ph 03 9347 5254 or mob 0411 477 149
> >
> > ----------
> > For Link list information see http://sunsite.anu.edu.au/link/
>
> ----------
> For Link list information see http://sunsite.anu.edu.au/link/
>

-- 
Howard.
LANNet Computing Associates - Your Linux people
Contact detail at http://www.lannetlinux.com
"Flatter government, not fatter government." - me
 Get rid of the Australian states.

----------
For Link list information see http://sunsite.anu.edu.au/link/