[LINK] Message for Craig Sanders

Kevin Littlejohn darius at obsidian.com.au
Tue Feb 10 18:10:04 EST 2004


(Sorry to do this to evereyone else, but I can't email Craig direct - 
and this is a topic that's been discussed here before ;)

Craig, I tried to send you an email, and got bounced because:

<cas at taz.net.au>: host taz.net.au[203.16.167.1] said: 550 Service 
unavailable;
     Client host [203.113.200.177] blocked using dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net; 
Dynamic IP
     Address See: 
http://www.dnsbl.sorbs.net/cgi-bin/lookup?IP=203.113.200.177

Interestingly, as per the headers:

Received:
(qmail 13924 invoked by uid 74); 10 Feb 2004 05:51:10 -0000
Received:
from dsl-203-113-200-177.vic.netspace.net.au (HELO wobbly.bofh.net.au) 
(203.113.200.177) by mx3.paradigm4.com.au with SMTP; 10 Feb 2004 
05:51:10 -0000
Received:
by wobbly.bofh.net.au (Postfix) id 6A3654A760; Tue, 10 Feb 2004 16:51:37 
+1100 (EST)

My mail goes from me, through a static host, to you.  It appears that 
you're blocking based on the client address, not on the mail server 
address.  That means that I can't send you email, even though I'm 
sending through a legitimate server (and am, in fact, a legitimate 
sender of email, not a spammer ;)

The IP I'm on is listed in SORBS as being dynamic - which it is, and 
which is why I send through mx3.paradigm4.com.au, which is a static box.

Can you re-tune your filtering, or is there a legit reason for 
disallowing mail through static boxes from dynamic addresses?

KJL




More information about the Link mailing list