[LINK] johnhowardlies.com

rchirgwin at ozemail.com.au rchirgwin at ozemail.com.au
Fri Jul 16 19:33:08 EST 2004


Rick Welykochy wrote:

> Deus Ex Machina wrote:
>
>> Antony Barry [tony at tony-barry.emu.id.au] wrote:
>>
>>> It will be interesting to see how this pans out and whether the 
>>> government manages to get it taken down. I would imagine that the 
>>> result will be like the sorcerers' apprentice's broom with copies of 
>>> it springing up all over the place.
>>
>>
>>
>> you can get the site taken down on the grounds it has fake details.
>
>
> prove it.
>
Can't prove it, but a quick sample of registrars' policies and most say 
providing false information is a breach of their terms and conditions.

Of course, most registrars are also too slack to act. "Leave it to the 
courts" is the 'merican way ... for eg, look at the court case in the 
late 1990s and early this decade over the registration of Markfoys.com 
(no longer in contention so I don't think I'm libelling anyone). IIRC 
before the court case, markfoys.com was registered using (as the 
address) "Mark Foys House" in Artarmon. Go looking and see if you can 
find such an address...

The registrar however did nothing, so the dispute had to end up in the 
high court.

Outrageous generalisation: the domain registration business is so shot 
through with malfeasance as to be pretty much equivalent to corruption.

RC

>
> cheers
> rickw
>
>


More information about the Link mailing list