[LINK] Email account utilization warning

Antony Barry tony at tony-barry.emu.id.au
Thu Mar 4 16:13:50 EST 2004


Linkers

Amongst the ~80 spam messages a day which get to link for me to 
eliminate was the message below. Of course there was an attachment. I 
got a similar message addressed to me supposedly from the managers of 
id.au.

It looks like somebody is targeting addresses on the basis of their 
Australian second level domain. As I've got a mac (and I assume the 
attachment was a windows executable) I couldn't do anything with the 
attachment.

Anybody seen these? Are they a scam or malicious?

Tony


Begin forwarded message:

> From: staff at edu.au
> Date: 3 March 2004 7:46:57 AM
> To: link at www.anu.edu.au
> Subject: Email account utilization warning.
>
>
> Dear user, the management  of  Edu.au mailing system  wants  to let  
> you know that,
>
> Our  antivirus software has detected a large ammount  of viruses 
> outgoing
> from your email account,  you  may use our free anti-virus tool to 
> clean  up
> your computer software.
>
> Advanced details can be  found  in attached file.
>
> Attached file  protected with the password for  security reasons. 
> Password is 04521.
>
> Best  wishes,
>    The Edu.au  team                             http://www.edu.au
phone : 02 6241 7659 | mailto:me at Tony-Barry.emu.id.au
mobile: 04 1242 0397 | http://tony-barry.emu.id.au



More information about the Link mailing list