[LINK] Email account utilization warning

Dassa dassa at dhs.org
Fri Mar 5 09:00:03 EST 2004


Not just Australian domains, had a user notify me that email address using
dhs.org were being used in the same way, what was interesting was the use of
the name within the body of the message.  Looks like they are hitting anyone
running a mailing list.  Haven't looked closely but the attachment seems to
be thee standard virus/trojan payload.

Darryl (Dassa) Lynch

|> -----Original Message-----
|> From: link-bounces at anu.edu.au
|> [mailto:link-bounces at anu.edu.au] On Behalf Of Antony Barry
|> Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 3:14 PM
|> To: Link list
|> Subject: [LINK] Email account utilization warning
|>
|> Linkers
|>
|> Amongst the ~80 spam messages a day which get to link for me
|> to eliminate was the message below. Of course there was an
|> attachment. I got a similar message addressed to me
|> supposedly from the managers of id.au.
|>
|> It looks like somebody is targeting addresses on the basis
|> of their Australian second level domain. As I've got a mac
|> (and I assume the attachment was a windows executable) I
|> couldn't do anything with the attachment.
|>
|> Anybody seen these? Are they a scam or malicious?




More information about the Link mailing list