[LINK] FW: ping: Idol blunder links gay porn site

Stilgherrian stil at stilgherrian.com
Tue Nov 23 13:11:02 EST 2004


And further to this, from the Oz-ISP mailing list...

>From: "Dale Clapperton (lists)" <lists at blackbird.net.au>
>To: "ozisp" <aussie-isp at aussie.net>, <isp-australia at isp-australia.com>
>Subject: [Oz-ISP] Redirecting caseydonovan.com to 
>caseydonovan.com.au may be illegal
>Date: Tue, 23 Nov 2004 08:11:54 +1000
>
>Hi all
>
>Some information from others, and my own testing, show that Telstra are
>publishing bogus DNS records for caseydonovan.com, causing people trying to
>get to that site to reach a Telstra server, which returns a page redirecting
>their browser to caseydonovan.com.au.
>
>(For those unfamiliar with this controversy, see
>http://www.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,4057,11461068%255E28100,00.html )
>
>I've also heard rumours that other ISPs are doing much the same thing.  I'd
>like to point out that doing this is: 1) Bad; 2) Sets a very bad precedent;
>and 3) Is probably illegal.
>
>http://scaleplus.law.gov.au/html/pasteact/0/28/1/PA006100.htm
>
>CRIMES ACT 1914
>- SECT 85ZD
>Wrongful delivery of communications
>
>A person shall not intentionally cause a communication in the course of
>telecommunications carriage to be received by a person or carriage service
>other than the person or service to whom it is directed.
>
>Penalty: Imprisonment for 1 year.
>
>In summary, don't help Telstra cover up their incompetence by doing
>something which is very bad practice, and probably illegal.
>
>Dale


-- 
Stilgherrian <stil at stilgherrian.com> http://www.stilgherrian.com/
Internet, IT and Media Consulting, Sydney, Australia. ABN 25 231 641 421
mobile 0407 623 600 (international +61 407 623 600)
fax 02 9516 5630 (international +61 2 9516 5630)


More information about the Link mailing list