[LINK] So what have we done about Melbourne IT's dirty deed

Adam Todd link at todd.inoz.com
Mon Mar 20 14:20:51 EST 2006


At 08:52 AM 20/03/2006, Jan Whitaker wrote:
>At 07:11 AM 20/03/2006, Stilgherrian wrote:
>>the clear light of day, Melbourne IT will realise its mistake, reinstate the
>>domain johnhowardpm.org,
>
>Now, this is interesting. If I'm reading your analysis correctly, MIT 
>deregistered the domain name and did not 'take down' the website. That is 
>a different kettle of fish. I'm not up on the regulations re domain name 
>registration, but in this case, the identity is what is at issue, not the 
>satirical article.  So if Mr Neville wanted to, he could complain to AUDA 
>for a determination, right?

Jan, Wrong :)  (Not happy Jan!)

Melbourne ID have no legal or commercial right to the .ORG name space.  A 
Dispute of such would have to be lodged with ICANN through the disputes 
resolution process.

The very fact that Melbourne IT has disabled the domain name, that it must 
have been the registrar for, is a serious breach of the ICANN rules for 
Registrars.

In fact, to be honest it's quite compensatable, however no doubt the web 
site makes no money so so it would be hard to justify economic 
loss.  Perhaps non-economic loss?

>The Dispute Resolution Policy is at http://www.auda.org.au/audrp/audrp/
>All the policies are available here: 
>http://www.auda.org.au/policies/policy-index/

And these are only relevant to .AU name space :)




More information about the Link mailing list