[LINK] johnhowardpm.org
Deus Ex Machina
vicc at cia.com.au
Wed Mar 22 13:59:12 EST 2006
Rick Welykochy [rick at praxis.com.au] wrote:
> Danny Yee wrote:
>
> >The plot thickens. www.johnhowardpm.org and johnhowardpm.org now
> >have A records pointing at a Melbourne IT IP, which redirects web
> >requests to http://richardneville.com/ This appears to be an attempt
> >by Melbourne IT to limit the fallout from their arbitrary action
> >against the domain.
> >
> >If I were Neville, I'd transfer the domain from them immediately.
> >And if I were anyone else using Melbourne IT, I'd move all my domains
> >somewhere else too!
>
> I would hope that legal action is possible as well, i.e. breach of
> contract. Proper ICANN procedures were ignored in this case and damages
> are due. Even if Neville won $1.00 in a court of law, the point would be
> made.
do you think court is free? do you think you get all your costs back
even if you win????
MIT followed the terms and conditions that are agreed upon by the buyer
when they buy a domain. and if you look at the T&C you will find MIT has
the power to deregister the name.
there is clearly no breach of contract and no violation of free speech
(if such a thing even exists here), if the epsilon minus who put up the site,
at least made it obvious it was satire it might still be standing.
freedom of speech doesnt entitle you to put up fraudulent websites.
Vic
More information about the Link
mailing list