[LINK] ICANN phishing

Kim Holburn kim at holburn.net
Fri Oct 27 16:38:30 AEST 2006

On 2006 Oct 27, at 4:13 PM, Howard Lowndes wrote:

> Are they asking you to log in (OK), or "click here to log in" (BAD)?

Click here to log in with a "special" URL.

> <BR>
> Please take a moment to <a href="http://info1.networksolutions.com/ 
> h/IIDY5/GDXXG/ID/HSB1LE?a1= EW463N&a2=me at mycompany.com.au"
> >review your WHOIS information</A> associated with each of the  
> domain names you currently have registered with us. If your WHOIS  
> information has changed or is inaccurate please follow the  
> instructions listed on the "WHOIS Review" page (you'll see this  
> page when you click the review link above) to update
>  it. If your WHOIS information is correct, you do not need to take  
> any action. <BR>
> <BR>
> You may review the ICANN policy <a href="http:// 
> info1.networksolutions.com/h/KQIEZ/GDXXG/ID/HSB1LE"
> >here</A>.<BR>
> <BR>

> Kim Holburn wrote:
>> I have received a number of emails from Domain registrars  
>> purporting to be on behalf of ICANN and asking me to log into my  
>> registrar and check the details of my domains.
>> I am a bit taken aback that Domain registrars would send stuff  
>> like this because these are so like phishing emails.  I can't see  
>> how this can be good in the long run.

Kim Holburn
IT Network & Security Consultant
Ph: +61 2 61258620 M: +61 417820641  F: +61 2 6230 6121
mailto:kim at holburn.net  aim://kimholburn
skype://kholburn - PGP Public Key on request
Cacert Root Cert: http://www.cacert.org/cacert.crt
Aust. Spam Act: To stop receiving mail from me: reply and let me know.
Use ISO 8601 dates [YYYY-MM-DD] http://www.saqqara.demon.co.uk/ 

Democracy imposed from without is the severest form of tyranny.
                           -- Lloyd Biggle, Jr. Analog, Apr 1961

More information about the Link mailing list