[LINK] ICANN phishing

Roger Clarke Roger.Clarke at xamax.com.au
Fri Oct 27 17:30:48 AEST 2006

>On 2006 Oct 27, at 4:13 PM, Howard Lowndes wrote:
>>  Are they asking you to log in (OK), or "click here to log in" (BAD)?

At 4:38 PM +1000 27/10/06, Kim Holburn wrote:
>Click here to log in with a "special" URL.

I approached the email I received from NSI (re a .com domain I own) 
with the same degree of suspicion;  but (rightly or wrongly) I 
concluded that the email was legit.

(Of course if we restricted email to ASCII, we wouldn't have this 
nonsense of visible URLs hiding nasty trapdoor URLs).

I'm intrigued that my details have been smothered, i.e. the 
Register-operator knows them, but they're not publicly visible in the 
whois directory.  Does that mean that the recent ICANN-USDoC 
agreement will *reduce* the privacy-protective aspect of whois?

   	Clarke, Roger
   	c/o Network Solutions
   	P.O. Box 447
   	Herndon, VA 20172-0447

   	Domain Name: ROGERCLARKE.COM

   	Administrative Contact :
   	Clarke, Roger
   	wq8gg2sw6fg at networksolutionsprivateregistration.com
   	c/o Network Solutions
   	P.O. Box 447
   	Herndon, VA 20172-0447
   	Phone: 570-708-8780

   	Technical Contact :
   	Network Solutions, LLC.
   	customerservice at networksolutions.com
   	13200 Woodland Park Drive
   	Herndon, VA 20171-3025
   	Phone: 1-888-642-9675
   	Fax: 571-434-4620

   	Record expires on 24-Jul-2007
   	Record created on 24-Jul-2001
   	Database last updated on 31-Jul-2006

Roger Clarke                  http://www.anu.edu.au/people/Roger.Clarke/
Xamax Consultancy Pty Ltd      78 Sidaway St, Chapman ACT 2611 AUSTRALIA
                    Tel: +61 2 6288 1472, and 6288 6916
mailto:Roger.Clarke at xamax.com.au                http://www.xamax.com.au/

Visiting Professor in Info Science & Eng  Australian National University
Visiting Professor in the eCommerce Program      University of Hong Kong
Visiting Professor in the Cyberspace Law & Policy Centre      Uni of NSW

More information about the Link mailing list